"Men of Honor" (Elm City Music; 2014)

Reviewed by Jeff Rogers

Adrenaline Mob is a super-group -- with emphasis on the word super, as in, SUPER! Each of these members on their own could take down a so-called metal band with just their name and as Andrew Carnegie of the famed Carnegie Hall once said, "Make your name mean something." Adrenaline Mob do just that, and more. Consisting of vocalist Russell Allen (Symphony X, Allen-Lande, Star-One); Mike Orlando on guitar (a top ten guitarist from Guitar Player magazine); John Moyer on bass (Disturbed) and A.J. Pero on drums (he replaced Mike Portnoy; A.J. smashed his sticks in Twisted Sister).

Now that introductions are done, let's hear the music! With those names you can only guess, which means you have to hear the beastly sound that emits from their respective instruments. From the first guitar meltdown you know that Adrenaline Mob are going to peel a layer of needed skin from your body but don't worry, you'll be tougher for it. Each track has enough muscle to keep you flexing your heavy metal scowl and when you absorb the fifty plus minutes of "Men of Honor" you'll be included in the club that knows what a supergroup is supposed to do, and that's rock your soul!

Russell Allen has a great voice. He can power your house with his vocals but he has a lighter side too. The track "Crystal Clear" is an acoustic gem nestled right in the middle of the disc. Go on, take the needed breather. The rest of the disc revs right back up and Mike Orlando kills it with each so "oh hell" lo. A.J. beats his drums into submission, and John thumps his bass like a man who wants to destroy those around him.

For more information check out

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.


Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to Home

Copyright ? 2014 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.
Revised: 20 May 2024 13:38:51 -0400 .