"I Luciferi" (Spitfire)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton


Glenn Danzig returns with "I Luciferi," a new album containing 13 tracks of devilish doom that should entertain his legion of fans. With dark guitars, gloomy vocals and song titles like "Dead Inside," "Kiss the Skull," "Naked Witch," "Black Mass" and "Without Light, I Am," "I Luciferi" may not be the best album Danzig has ever recorded, but it delivers.

Most impressive here is the fretwork by lead guitarist Todd Youth. Youth's razor leads give "I Luciferi" a sharper edge than some previous Danzig releases, at times almost elevating Danzig to Ozzy Osbourne epic-ness. That being said, I don't think this new CD will gain Danzig any new fans. It's the kind of music that will appeal to those who've enjoyed his previous work and style but doesn't really offer anything substantial to those unfamiliar with the catalog.

Danzig: Glenn Danzig - vocals, keyboards, guitars; Todd Youth - lead guitar; Howie Pyro - bass; Joey C. - drums.

For more information, check out www.danzig-verotik.com

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.


Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to RoughEdge.com Home

Copyright 2003 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.
Revised: 26 Sep 2022 12:18:28 -0400 .