"No Escape" (self-produced; 2006)

Reviewed by Christopher  J. Kelter

Having already released the “First Blood” demo in 2005, Hokum have returned with their debut EP, “No Escape.” Some might be tempted to call “No Escape” another demo, but it has the sound and look of a big-time release.

Hokum, hailing from Germany, play an invigorating blend of thrash-oriented metal that draws equally from melodic death, death metal, and slight bits of extreme modern metal and progressive metal as well. The six tracks on “No Escape” are sophisticated and invigorating. The music features the abilities of the four members of Hokum who know how quite well to show restraint and when to turn up the power. All the music is expertly integrated as each element of Hokum’s songs show unique elements fitting into one satisfying whole. The songwriting shows a great deal of sense with regard to structure. Furthermore, the songs display how the band can enhance their melodies with the underlying rhythm (and vice versa).

“No Escape” is a nice underground surprise for early 2006. And I’ll bet they won’t be totally underground for too long.

“No Escape” was produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by Yogi Lane.

Hokum: Benjamin Geppert on vocals and guitar, Michael Vogl on lead guitar, Jonas Fischer on bass, and Peter Reiter on drums.

For more information visit http://www.hokum.de

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.

Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to RoughEdge.com Home

Copyright © 2006 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.
Revised: 16 Jul 2024 12:13:36 -0400.