"Disynchronize" (Burn To Death Music)

Reviewed by Christopher J. Kelter

"Disynchronize" continues Horfixion's intermingling of '80s thrash and early '90s death metal. One of thrash's defining features is controlled, measured execution. Horfixion have that skill in spades.  Horfixion haven't really changed to much since the demo "Rage" came out in '99, but this time around the riffs are tighter and the arrangements are much more advanced. 

The title track features interesting riffs and arrangements and lingers in the listener's mind long after the CD has finished playing.  "Voiceless Scream" is a compact thrasher and the instrumental "Tears Of Sand" dictates Horfixion's melodic sensibility atop fierce thrashing.  "Nightmare" has an epic sound to it without being an epic and is testament to Horfixion's growing confidence and song-writing skill. "Human Machine" demonstrates how Horfixion have evolved in writing intros that fit the rest of the song. Re-recorded versions of "Rage" and "Deserted Landscape" demonstrate the band's improving technical skills and completes the journey from the early days to the present. 

Something I missed on the "Rage" demo that is quite evident on this CD is how much Sam Landry's vocals have a Tom Araya-influence mixed in with their classic thrash/death metal vocal sound.

If you like aggressive thrash you won't be disappointed with Horfixion's "Disynchronize."

"Disynchronize" was produced by Horfixion. The production on the demo "Rage" was quite good for an independent release. "Disynchronize" is a definite improvement in production over the demo "Rage" and should get Horfixion primed for attention from labels. 

Horfixion is Samuel Landry on vocals and guitar, Kevin St. Yves on guitar and backing vocals, Richard Gelinas on bass, and Alexandre Noel on drums. Daniel Mongrain (Martyr, Gorguts) has a guest solo on "Tears Of Sand."

For more information visit http://www.horfixion.com

"Rage" (Burn To Death Music)

Reviewed by Christopher J. Kelter

Horfixion are a young Canadian death metal/thrash unit that recalls classic '80s thrash and early '90s death metal. An easy reference point would be that Horfixion play a cross between the technicality of Atheist and the co-mingled fast/mid pacing of Death with a healthy does of respect for the storied early days of Metallica.

The four songs on this demo have scalding rhythms that mimic the bio-rhythm of chaos. The nimble bass/guitar work of "Rage" sets up the furious thrashing maelstrom of "Nature's Revenge." "Deserted Landscape" shows a heavy Slayer influence while "Rendez-Vous Avec La Mort" (the simple translation is "Meeting With Death") rumbles through the darkness with '80s Metallica-like thrashing and Hetfield-ish vocal ranting. 

The production is stellar for an independent release. 

Although the death metal scene is getting crowded these days, fans of the genre would be wise to keep their eyes on future developments in the Horfixion camp. I am very excited to hear what these guys will produce next.

Horfixion is Samuel Landry on guitar and vocals, Alexandre Noel on drums, Kevin St. Yves on guitar, Erick Doucet on bass. 

For more information visit http://metalmusic.net/mETaLmuSicNetWOrK/Horfixion/

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.


Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to RoughEdge.com Home

Copyright 2001 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.
Revised: 04 Sep 2023 14:32:29 -0400 .