"Unity" (Self-released; 2017)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

It's been a hella long time since I've listened to Ivory Knight. I was actually surprised to discover my previous review of "Unconscience" here on RoughEdge.com (see below). Luckily, I listened to "Unity" prior to my re-reading my "Unconscience" review so I came at the new CD with a completely fresh perspective.

"Unity" is a collection of driving hard rock tunes heavy with raucous guitars and fast-paced rhythms in the vein of Megadeth (as in "Rejected") and Iron Maiden (as in "A Million Miles Away.")  Things only slow down a couple of times -- on the unfortunate "Winters Day" (a ballad that eventually speeds up, but doesn't work well enough prior to that) and in the middle of the last track, "Waiting for Tomorrow 2017*" which, based on the asterisk in the title, means that it's a re-recording or something.

"Unity" is very listenable, and those who like their metal more in "garage" genre rather than "arena" genre will find plenty to like here. I'll have to go back and listen to "Unconscience" now, to see how the band has changed in thirteen years.

Ivory Knight: John Devadasan Perinbam - lead and backing vocals, keyboards, piano; Rob Gravelle - guitar; Steve Mercer - bass; George Nesrallah - drums.

For more information, check out www.ivoryknight.net.  

"Unconscience" (Self-released; 2004)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

If you're an unsigned band, you don't get a big name to mix and master your CD unless you're independently wealthy or you've got serious talent and potential.

So when I saw that Jeff Waters of Annihilator mixed and mastered the new CD by Canada's Ivory Knight, I was intrigued. 

As far as I know, the members of Ivory Knight haven't won the lottery. Nor did one of their parents invent Liquid Paper. After listening to "Unconscience," however, I can see what attracted Waters to the band.

A unique combination of the operatic Queensryche style and the epic thunder of Iron Maiden (and, of course, Annihilator), "Unconscience" is a collection of songs that meld the genres of power metal, progressive rock and a bit of thrash. The CD is filled with the things fans of those styles are looking for: real singing, blistering leads, and songs that alternate from rocking hard to simply thrashing along ... often within the same song.

I only wish that Jeff Waters had produced "Unconscience" as well. Whereas the production is adequate, it's also a little flat at times. Overall, however, it's not much of a distraction. 

Fans of the classic hard rock/heavy metal sound will find much to like on Ivory Knight's "Unconscience."

One more interesting note: The cover artwork is by Gyula Havanscak, who also did Annihilator's "All For You." 

Ivory Knight: John Devadasan Perinbam - lead and backing vocals, all keyboards, orchestral madness, additional drums; Rob Gravelle - lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars, backing vocals; Steve Mercer - bass guitar, backing vocals; George Nesrallah - drums.

For more information, check out www.ivoryknight.net.  

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.

Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to RoughEdge.com Home

Copyright 2018 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.