"Rules!" (Myrmecoleo Records; 2003)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

If you, like me, have grown tired of the apparently neverending stream of Blink 182, pop-punk sound-alikes flooding the market these days, Motosierra's "Rules!" will bring a refreshing smile of welcome to your mohawk-topped face.

"Rules!" contains 14 tracks of what the band calls "wild ultra speed killer punk." And there's no better way to describe their sound. Motosierra sounds like the Sex Pistols and Rancid on speed: raw, bloody-throat vocals; chunky, flailing guitars; barbed-wire lead riffs and running times never much more than two minutes per song. (With 14 tracks, "Rules!" has a total running time of just over 23 minutes!).

And you gotta love the songs titles, too. Included on "Rules!!" are such ditties as "Idiota," "The Leatherface," "Suck My Dick" and "(I Wanna) Fuck Myself." No question where this band is coming from!

Motosierra: Marcos - vocals; Luis - guitars; Gabriel - bass, vocals; Walo - drums, harmonic, vocals. 

For more information, check out

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.

Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to Home

Copyright 2003 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.