"Jokesters" EP (Independent; 2024)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

"Jokesters" is a five track EP that contains three new tracks, plus two alternative versions. The three new tracks are "Jokesters," "Soldiers of Misfortune" and "Razor's Edge." All three are serviceable, if somewhat generic, hard rock songs but the anger that infuses "Jokesters," gives it an extra oomph. Interestingly, track 4 is an alternative version of "Jokesters" that doesn't quite have the same level of rage. I'll take version one.

The final track on the album is a Spanish-language version of "Soldiers of Misfortune" which, as far as I can tell, is exactly the same as the English-language version (with the exception of the replacement language, of course.) It's interesting to hear but doesn't really add anything here, unless your primary language is Spanish.

As with most EP's, it's hard to justify giving "Jokesters" a stellar rating but it does this much, for sure: I look forward to hearing more from the band in the future.

For more information, check out

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.

Our writers choose which products we review on,
and we may earn an affiliate commission when you buy
something through our website. Thanks, by the way! 

Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to Home

Copyright 2024  by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.