"Siege" (Transcending Obscuirty Records; 2021)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

There are only four tracks on "Siege" by The Slow Death, the shortest of which runs about ten-and-a-half minutes, the longest of which runs nearly twenty. So, as you can guess, each track on "Siege" is kind of epic, an atmospheric monster that trundles along at its own pace, delivering stoner guitars, haunting vocals, death metal growls, unexpected keyboards and devastating heaviness.

"Siege" may require a little patience to listen to. I donít see this as the kind of music you can listen to while youíre driving or doing housework. This music is best listened to with headphones, in the dark, where you can focus on it, where you can let it envelop you in its ethereal arms.

The Slow Death: Mandy Andresen - Vocals and Keyboards; Stuart Prickett - Guitars and Keyboards; Yonn McLaughlin- Drums; Dan Garcia Ė Bass; Gamaliel - Vocals.

For more information, check out

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.

Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to Home

Copyright © 2021 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.