"MTV2 Headbangers Ball" (Roadrunner Records; 2003)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

The return of MTV's "Headbangers Ball," now on MTV2, was met with mixed reviews. So shall be this double CD set.

The reason for the hot and cold reviews is explained with one simple word: editing. Some of the songs contained in this collection have been edited for "objectionable" content and, as regular readers of will tell you, we think that's fucked up. What the hell does Marilyn Manson mean when he says, "Are you motherffffuddddin' ready for the new llyit" anyway?

And, as far as we can tell, no unedited version is available.

Despite the editing, however, this collection must be commended for its breadth, its extensive running time, and its impressive coverage of the modern metal world. There are 40 tunes contained on this two-CD set, from bands ranging from veteran acts (i.e. Strapping Young Lad, Slayer) to the mainstream (i.e. Rob Zombie, Godsmack, ) to the underground (i.e., Eighteen Visions, Demon Hunter). There's no better collection out there to introduce you to metal music from so many different bands and so many different sub-genres. A complete track listing follows and just reading it should blow your socks off.

The bottom line is this: A little editing hurts ... but doesn't kill ... this great, over 140-minute collection of metal tunes. Looking for new bands that might meet your taste? Go no further than "Headbangers Ball."

But try not to pay a lot for it.

Included on "Headbangers Ball" are:
Disc 1:
1. Godsmack - Straight Out Of Line
2. Hatebreed - This Is Now*
3. Staind - Price To Play
4. Cold - Stupid Girl 
5. Deftones - Hexagram
6. Marilyn Manson - This Is The New S**t
7. Sevendust - Separate*
8. Ill Nino - When It Cuts
9. Mudvayne - World's So Cold
10. Spineshank - Smothered
11. Static-X - Destroy All*
12. Killswitch Engage - Fixation On The Darkness
13. Stone Sour - Inhale
14. Soil - Pride*
15. Anthrax - Safe Home 
16. Slayer - Reign In Blood (live)*
17. Murderdolls - Dead In Hollywood 
18. Shadow's Fall - Destroyer Of Senses
19. Mushroomhead - Sun Doesn't Rise*
20. Rob Zombie - House Of 1000 Corpses

Disc 2:
1. Lamb Of God - Ruin
2. Arch Enemy - We Will Rise
3. In Flames - Clouds Connected
4. Chimaira - Down Again
5. Eighteen Visions - You Broke Like Glass
6. Lacuna Coil - Heaven's A Lie
7. DevilDriver - I Could Care Less*
8. Sworn Enemy - Sworn Enemy
9. 36 Crazyfists - At The End Of August*
10. Cradle Of Filth - Mannequin
11. Demon Hunter - Infected*
12. Mastodon - March Of The Fire Ants
13. Motograter - Down
14. E.Town Concrete - Mandibles*
15. Poison The Well - Botchla
16. Soilwork - Rejection Role
17. Unearth - Endless*
18. Strapping Young Lad - Relentless
19. As I Lay Dying - Forever
20. Meshuggah - Rational Gaze 

* = previously unreleased. 

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.


Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to Home

Copyright 2003 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.
Revised: 12 Feb 2018 21:33:05 -0500 .