"Resident Evil" Original Soundtrack (Roadrunner; 2002)

Reviewed by R. Scott Bolton

This soundtrack from the hit video game cum hit book series cum hit feature film joins a host of others that take up-and-coming bands, hook up with a bunch of their best known songs, add some unreleased tunes by better known bands and throw them together on a CD. 

The good news is that this CD features a ton of great bands (track listing below) and some really great tunes. In addition, many of these tunes are re-mixes that have never been released before and they sound really good. Interestingly, not a bunch of them actually made it into the film but since when is that a pre-requisite to appear on a soundtrack CD?

Also good news is the original score by Marilyn Manson that appears on tracks 17 - 20 of the CD. Unlike other soundtrack CDs, this isn't pure movie music that doesn't really fit along with the other rock tunes (I usually prefer the music score appear on a completely separate CD). Instead, Manson's edgy, rock-hard score, which pays tribute to the great "Dead" scores written and performed by the legendary Goblin, is a nice way to end the CD.

The bad news is that apparently no "unedited" version of this CD has been released. The profanity in these songs has been cut almost completely. And that's some serious cutting considering we're dealing with bands like Slipknot, Adema, Mudvayne and Method Man. I won't go as far as to say that this editing ruins this CD, but it's painfully obvious throughout. If someone knows of an unedited version of this CD out there, please let me know. I haven't been able to find it.

Edited or not, the soundtrack to "Resident Evil" does a good job of capturing the atmosphere of the film and stands on its own as a solid collection of new metal as well.

Track listing:
SLIPKNOT "My Plague" (New abuse mix)*
MARILYN MANSON "The Fight Song" (Slipknot remix)*
COAL CHAMBER "Something Told Me"*
THE CRYSTAL METHOD "Name of the Game" (Clean Name)*
ADEMA "Everyone"
FEAR FACTORY "Invisible Wounds" (The Suture Mix)*
STATIC-X "Anything But This"*
RAMMSTEIN "Hallelujah"
ILL NINO "Wind Comes Around" (Day of the Dead Mix)*
MUDVAYNE "Dig" (Everything and Nothing Remix)
METHOD MAN "Release Yo' Delf" (Prodigy Mix)
SALIVA "800 degrees"
FIVE POINTE O "The Infinity"
Original score by Marilyn Manson:
Resident Evil Main Title Theme*
Seizure of Power*

*Previously unreleased

Rating Guide:

A classic. This record will kick your ass.

Killer. Not a classic but it will rock your world.

So-so. You've heard better.

Pretty bad. Might make a nice coaster.

Self explanatory. Just the sight of the cover makes you wanna hurl.


Back to CD Reviews Home

Back to Home

Copyright 2002 by R. Scott Bolton. All rights reserved.
Revised: 04 Oct 2018 19:54:50 -0400 .